Thomas Short Wins 2005 Mu Sigma Rho Statistics Education Award



Associate Professor Thomas Short of Indiana University of Pennsylvania and National Mu Sigma Rho President Marcia Gumpertz of North Carolina State University.

Mu Sigma Rho, the National Honor Society for Statistics, presented its 6th Statistical Education Award to Associate Professor **Thomas Short** (right) of Indiana University of Pennsylvania at the Joint Statistical Meetings (JSM) in Minneapolis in August 2005. This award recognizes excellence in undergraduate or graduate statistical education at the institutional, regional, or national level.

Dr. Short has been widely regarded as an outstanding teacher and leader for statistics education in Pennsylvania and at the national level. He has served as a regional site director and frequent presenter for the Statistics Education through Quantitative Literacy (SEQuaL) project. Dr. Richard Schaeffer, past president of the ASA, has called these workshops "the best national model for statewide workshops in quantitative literacy." Dr. Short has also given workshops for AP statistics teachers and has formed local and regional organizations of teachers. In fact, he also is one of the few statisticians who

works regularly with teachers at the elementary school level. Mu Sigma Rho is proud to recognize Dr. Short for his dedication to statistics education at all levels.

Mu Sigma Rho would like to invite academic institutions to nominate their outstanding teaching faculty for the 2006 Mu Sigma Rho Statistical Education Award. The recipient must have evidence of excellence in classroom teaching in the statistics discipline and must have a lifetime devotion to statistics education. Each academic institution is allowed one nomination per year. In the event that more than one nomination is received from a single institution in a year, only the first will be considered that year. Any college or institution may nominate a potential recipient regardless of whether the institution has an active Mu Sigma Rho chapter. Each nomination should include a cover letter, the nominee's curriculum vitae, a summary of the nominee's teaching and educational activities, and at least three letters supporting the nomination. At least two of these letters should come from present or former students and at least one letter should come from a colleague of the nominee. The deadline for submission of nominations for the 2006 award, the nomination will remain active for three years after the initial submission, unless the institution chooses to put forward another nominee.

Nomination materials should be sent to Joshua M. Tebbs, 209F LeConte, Department of Statistics, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC 29229.

The recipient of the award will be notified in July 2006 and will be presented a plaque at JSM in August 2006. If you have any questions regarding this award, please feel free to email Dr. Tebbs at <u>tebbs@stat.sc.edu</u>.

Recipients of the Mu Sigma Rho Statistical Education Award

- 2005: Thomas Short, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
- 2004: Robin Lock, Saint Lawrence University
- 2003: Beth Chance, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
- 2002: Brenda Gunderson, University of Michigan
- 2001: Robert Stephenson, Iowa State University
- 2000: John D. Spurrier, University of South Carolina

Last modified September 18, 2005