Conference on Statistical Decision Theory and Related Topics

21-22 June 2003

All day both days

Symposium Home

This is the seventh such conference in the series hosted by the Department of Statistics, Purdue University. It honors the memory of Shanti S. Gupta who chaired the Organizing Committee of the previous six conferences.

Statistical Science is in the process of a rapid development that has been triggered by the need for large data sets arising from new experiments in biological, chemical and pharmaceutical sciences and industry. Large databases in public health, super markets and other areas also play a role. In addition Statistical Decision Theory, equipped with modern Bayesian methods and other methods of learning, can help solve many current practical problems involving validation of complex models. These are all parts of Statistical Decision Theory and Related Topics. The conference will provide a forum for interchange of ideas on these topics. Invited and contributed papers as well as poster sessions will be held on Statistical Learning, Complex Models, Nonparametric Regression, Ranking and Selection, Bioequivalence, Sequential Analysis and other related topics.

The local organizers of the symposium are Jayanta K. Ghosh, Chair, and Mary Ellen Bock, Co-Chair. The members of the Program Committee for the conference on Statistical Decision Theory and Related Topics are Mary Ellen Bock, Purdue University; James O. Berger, Duke University; Peter J. Bickel, University of California at Berkeley; Larry Brown, University of Pennsylvania; Jayanta K. Ghosh, Purdue University; Iain Johnstone, Stanford University; Diane Lambert, Bell Labs; Gary McDonald, General Motors Research Division; Bin Yu, University of California at Berkeley; Michael Zhu, Purdue University.

Partial List of Participants

  • N. Balakrishnan (McMaster University, Canada)
  • Susie Bayarri (University of Valencia, Spain)
  • Jim Berger (Duke University)
  • Peter Bickel (UC Berkeley)
  • Lawrence Brown (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Tony Cai (University of Pennsylvania )
  • Raymond Carroll (Texas A&M University)
  • Kathryn Chaloner (University of Minnesota)
  • Pinyuen Chen (Syracuse University)
  • Dipak Dey (University of Connecticut)
  • Morris Eaton (University of Minnesota)
  • Sam Efromovich (University of New Mexico)
  • Jianqing Fan (University of North Carolina)
  • Malay Ghosh (University of Florida)
  • Pulak Ghosh (Oakland University)
  • Priscilla Greenwood (Arizona State University, AZ)
  • Peter Hall (Australian National University)
  • Michael Jordan (UC Berkeley)
  • Ravi Khattree (Oakland University )
  • Jaeyong Lee (Pennsylvania State University)
  • Liza Levina (University of Michigan)
  • TaChen Liang (Wayne State University)
  • Xihong Lin (University of Michigan)
  • Yi Lin (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • Regina Liu (Rutgers University)
  • Mark Low (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Hari Lyre (Colorado State University)
  • J. S. Marron (University of North Carolina)
  • Peter McCullough (University of Chicago)
  • Robert McCulloch (University of Chicago)
  • Gary McDonald (General Motors Research Division)
  • Klaus Miescke (University of Illinois at Chicago)
  • Yaacov Ritov (The Hebrew University, Israel)
  • Herman Rubin (Purdue University)
  • Jerry Sacks (Duke University)
  • Jayaram Sethuraman (Florida State University)
  • Xiaotong Shen (Ohio State University)
  • David Siegmund (Stanford University)
  • Gordon Simons (University of North Carolina)
  • Dongchu Sun (University of Missouri-Columbia)
  • Jiayang Sun (Case Western Reserve University)
  • Sara van de Geer (University of Leiden, Netherlands)
  • Willem van Zwet (University of Leiden, Netherlands)
  • Tsachy Weissman (Israel Institute of Technology)
  • Michael Woodroofe (University of Michigan)

Purdue Department of Statistics, 250 N. University St, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Phone: (765) 494-6030, Fax: (765) 494-0558

© 2018 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science Webmaster.